Flying Microtonal Banana


1. Rattlesnake
2. Melting
3. Open Water
4. Sleep Drifter
5. Billabong Valley
6. Anoxia
7. Doom City
8. Nuclear Fusion
9. Flying Microtonal Banana

Produced by Stu Mackenzie
Recorded by Stu Mackenzie
Mixed by Jarvis Taveniere
Mastered by Joseph Carra
Cover art by Jason Galea

NOTHING is sacred in our western music. Over hundreds of years our music de-evolved to feature less emphasis on rhythm and more attention to harmonic IMPERFECTION. Our ancestors endeavoured to create a system based on perfect 5ths yet we end up with a series of severely out of tune 3rds and wonky harmonies. 

Bach composed in something closer to JUST intonation. Modern pianos are tuned SHARP at the top and FLAT at the bottom. Violinists INSTINCTUALLY bow perfect harmonies in orchestral arrangements. Barbershop quartets INSTINCTUALLY sing perfect harmonic 3rds and 7ths. They are RIGHT. We are WRONG. Trust your instincts.

We continually dumbed down the rhythmic complexity in favour of harmonic ENTANGLEMENT. Harmonies that are OUT OF TUNE. Nothing is sacred! And neither is this album. 24-TET EVERYBODY. Wronger than wrong. Love, Stu

See all releases